RAC-Bulletin] RAC Head Office has been closed temporarily March 2020

The rapidly evolving coronavirus (COVID-19) situation has now reached Ottawa, where the RAC Head Office is located, and medical officials have requested that all individuals should remain in their homes and limit non-essential travel.

In order to ensure the health and safety of the RAC staff, volunteers and the Amateur Radio community in Ottawa who visit the Head Office, RAC has decided to close its headquarters effective immediately. As a result, the majority of activities and responsibilities of the RAC administration will now be performed remotely until the situation improves.

Important: Please do not go the RAC Head Office until you have been informed that it has been reopened.

Renewing your membership

If you need to renew your RAC membership you can do so by sending a cheque to the address provided below or by completing the online form at the Membership Sign Up / Renewal Area. You may also contact the office by telephone to renew your membership if preferred (see below).

Radio Amateurs of/du Canada
720 Belfast Road
Suite 217
Ottawa, ON K1G 0Z5

Delay in processing mail

Mail will now be picked up at the RAC Head Office intermittently so please take this delay into account if you are intending to send cheques, forms or applications to the RAC office. Please allow for extra time and to send out correspondence well in advance of any time constraints.

If you have already sent your renewal or any mail in the last two weeks it may not have yet reached RAC Headquarters and as result will not be picked up at the office until later this week. Please contact the RAC office if you have concerns about a renewal payment sent via regular mail.

Contacting RAC by telephone

We will be pleased to continue to assist RAC members by telephone at 613-244-4367 or 877-273-8304 from 10 am to 4 pm EST/EDT, Monday through Friday (except statutory holidays).

Please leave a message on the answering machine as usual if no one responds right away.

Contacting RAC by email

The RAC General Manager continues to be available by email at racgm@rac.ca. In addition, the regular RAC Headquarters email address at rachq@rac.ca will also be monitored.

We understand this is an uncertain time for everyone and we are here to continue to support you and we ask for your patience.

We also stress the importance of listening to medical officials in your own areas and exercise all due caution with your own activities.Alan GriffinRAC MarCom Director

2020 INTERNATIONAL DX CONVENTION CANCELLED



The item below is self explanatory

The 2020 International DX Convention Has Been Cancelled
 March 10, 2020 We send out our apologies to all our perspective patrons of the 2020 International DX Convention. Due to concerns, health and well-being of our amateur radio family, our age group and possible compromised health issues; we are taking the side of safety and canceling the convention. Even though the percentage of COVID-19 is low, there are person(s) who have the illness but mild form and have not seen a physician. It only takes 1 person to pass the virus to a person with a compromised illness. We will be in close proximity of each other, yes the timing is bad, but all of your lives and families are more important. We will be refunding everyone’s reservation funds/shirt request funds. We appreciate your support and patience while we proceed with sending refunds back to each person.Note: EVERYONE WHO HAS HOTEL RESERVATIONS, it is your responsibility to cancel your reservation as soon as possible so that the hotels can resell their rooms.Respectfully
Cathy Gardenias, K6VC
Kris Jacob, KC6TOD
The entire IDXC Committee 2020

http://www.dxconvention.org/

W1AW 2020 Spring/Summer Operating Schedule



The following was received from the ARRL

ARRL Bulletin 8  ARLB008
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  March 10, 2020
To all radio amateurs

SB QST ARL ARLB008
ARLB008 W1AW 2020 Spring/Summer Operating Schedule

Morning Schedule:

Time                  Mode     Days
——————-   —-     ———
1300 UTC (9 AM ET)    CWs      Wed, Fri
1300 UTC (9 AM ET)    CWf      Tue, Thu

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:

1400 UTC to 1600 UTC – (10 AM to 12 PM ET)
1700 UTC to 1945 UTC – (1 PM to 3:45 PM ET)

(Station closed 1600 to 1700 UTC (12 PM to 1 PM ET))

Afternoon/Evening Schedule:

2000 UTC (4 PM ET)      CWf      Mon, Wed, Fri
2000  ”      ”          CWs      Tue, Thu
2100  ”  (5 PM ET)      CWb      Daily
2200  ”  (6 PM ET)      DIGITAL  Daily
2300  ”  (7 PM ET)      CWs      Mon, Wed, Fri
2300  ”      ”          CWf      Tue, Thu
0000  ”  (8 PM ET)      CWb      Daily
0100  ”  (9 PM ET)      DIGITAL  Daily
0145  ”  (9:45 PM ET)   VOICE    Daily
0200  ”  (10 PM ET)     CWf      Mon, Wed, Fri
0200  ”      ”          CWs      Tue, Thu
0300  ”  (11 PM ET)     CWb      Daily


                         Frequencies (MHz)
                         —————–
CW: 1.8025 3.5815 7.0475 14.0475 18.0975 21.0675 28.0675 50.350 147.555
DIGITAL: – 3.5975 7.095 14.095 18.1025 21.095 28.095 50.350 147.555
VOICE: 1.855 3.990 7.290 14.290 18.160 21.390 28.590 50.350 147.555

Notes:

CWs = Morse Code practice (slow) = 5, 7.5, 10, 13 and 15 WPM
CWf = Morse Code practice (fast) = 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 13 and 10 WPM  
CWb = Morse Code Bulletins = 18 WPM

CW frequencies include code practices, Qualifying Runs and CW
bulletins.

DIGITAL = BAUDOT (45.45 baud), BPSK31 and MFSK16 in a revolving
schedule.

Code practice texts are from QST, and the source of each practice is
given at the beginning of each practice and at the beginning of
alternate speeds.

On Tuesdays and Fridays at 2230 UTC (6:30 PM ET), Keplerian Elements
for active amateur satellites are sent on the regular digital
frequencies.

A DX bulletin replaces or is added to the regular bulletins between
0000 UTC (8 PM ET) Thursdays and 0000 UTC (8 PM ET) Fridays.

Audio from W1AW’s CW code practices, and CW/digital/phone bulletins
is available using EchoLink via the W1AW Conference Server named
“W1AWBDCT.”  The monthly W1AW Qualifying Runs are presented here as
well.  The CW/digital/phone audio is sent in real-time and runs
concurrently with W1AW’s regular transmission schedule.

All users who connect to the conference server are muted.  Please
note that any questions or comments about this server should not be
sent via the “Text” window in EchoLink. Please direct any questions
or comments to w1aw@arrl.org .

In a communications emergency, monitor W1AW for special bulletins as
follows: Voice on the hour, Digital at 15 minutes past the hour, and
CW on the half hour.

FCC licensed amateurs may operate the station from 1400 UTC to 1600
UTC (10 AM to 12 PM ET), and then from 1700 UTC to 1945 UTC (1 PM to
3:45 PM ET) Monday through Friday.  Be sure to bring your current
FCC amateur license or a photocopy.

The complete W1AW Operating Schedule may be found on page 91 in the
March 2020 issue of QST or on the web at,
http://www.arrl.org/w1aw-operating-schedule .
NNNN